Sewing Together

We’re closing in on high school scheduling for my soon-to-be freshman. This makes me feel old, makes me feel like time flies by too fast, makes me wonder if I’ve taught her all the skills she needs, and generally has my nerves wracked, although she seems very at ease. I’m going to blame it on the fact that I didn’t go to high school (I’m a recovering home school student). We had a tour/curriculum night this week, and while I nearly had a nervous breakdown in that crowd of noisy teens, I think it’s going to all be okay.

In addition to the high school fun, I also stepped out of my comfort zone to attend my first Columbus Modern Quilt Guild meeting – and had a great time! Everyone has their own handmade name tags, and in an effort to not stick out like a sore thumb, here’s mine.

photo 3

They also did a block raffle for Converging Corners blocks. I used Film in the Fridge’s tutorial to create my blocks.

photo 2

It was a great evening, and I look forward to the next meeting. I enjoyed seeing everyone’s projects and hearing their tips, and they were so welcoming!

The other project I got into this week is one I’ve wanted to try for awhile – the Sew Together Bag by Sew Demented. This bag is great for a sewing or embroidery kit, make up, or anything else that would benefit from 3 zippered pockets!

photo 2(1)photo 1(1) photo 3(1) photo 4

According to reviews, the pattern could use some more photos and clarity in the instructions. After sewing it for myself, I would agree – if you decide to make this bag, read everything carefully before beginning and make sure you can visualize all of the steps. I found it to be easy to sew up once I figured out what was happening in each step. I can’t wait to make more of these!

Leave a Reply

