Hidden Gems

I have the month off from MATS Bootcamp, and am excited to use some of my ‘free time’ to catch you up on what I’ve been working on. I love the format of MATS Bootcamp. During the first week of the month, we get a mini assignment – an assignment that centers on a single theme, and involves research and sketching the subject without really knowing where you’re headed in the main assignment. By the time the main assignment is revealed during week two, I’ve already fallen for the subject matter and I’m ready to go!

January’s mini assignment was Edwardian brooches. When I received the email, I went into instant panic mode. I found the subject completely unappealing, and couldn’t see how it would work with my style. Nevertheless, I began my research. I found some interesting shapes, and began to latch on to the facets of the gems.

EdwardianInspiration.jpg

Before long, I had 6 pages of sketches and I was hooked!

When the main assignment came out the following week, I had lots of icons ready to pull together. The main assignment was journal covers for the gift market, and the brooches were a perfect fit!

I typically draw using paper and pen, and scan my drawings into Illustrator to digitize and color. I decided to stretch myself further on this assignment, incorporating watercolor into my work. I’m really pleased with how the textures came through, and will be using this method again.

By the time my project was submitted, I was so infatuated with Edwardian brooches that I decided to translate them into a repeating pattern for fabric as well, now available in my Spoonflower shop!

Leave a comment